SMS Interest Groups and Communities

The Interest Groups and Communities within the SMS provide another opportunity for our members to connect and network with those who have similar interests. We encourage all of our members to take advantage of the benefits the IG&Cs offer!

The primary purpose of the Interest Groups and Communities within the SMS is to act as a catalyst for building and disseminating new ideas in research, practice, and teaching around a set of core issues in strategic management. Each IG&C recognizes a major, individual stream of practice and research interest, and aims to serve the needs of members with special interests in this stream of work.

During each Annual Conference, the IG&Cs each foster a competitive track of research proposals, as well as several issue-specific sessions and workshops to cultivate new research in the field.

Members of the SMS can elect to join up to two IGs and any of the Communities of their choice; additional IGs may be added for a nominal fee.

We are excited to announce the newly elected members of the Interest Group and Community Leadership!



Associate Program Chair



Interest Group

      Arianna Marchetti
Behavioral Strategy
John Joseph   John Eklund


    Cyndi Man Zhang
      Ivana Naumovska
Competitive Strategy
Francesco Castellaneta   Valentina Assenova
      Thomaz Teodorovicz
      Linda Rademaker
Cooperative Strategy
Umit Ozmel   Navid Asgari
      Giorgio Zanarone


Elena Vidal
Corporate Strategy
Minyuan Zhao   Teresa Antonia Dickler


Daniel Keum


Alicia DeSantola
Entrepreneurship & Strategy
Francesco Di Lorenzo   Astrid Marinoni
      J. Daniel Kim
      Olga Petricevic
Global Strategy
Ilgaz Arikan   Gilbert Kofi
      Maoliang Bu
      Jacqueline Kirtley
Knowledge & Innovation
Marco Giarratana   Victoria Sevcenko
      Pooyan Khashabi



Aline Gatignon
Stakeholder Strategy
Ishva Minefee


Srividya Jandhyala



Haram Seo



Shinjae Won
Strategic Human Capital
Martin Ganco


Christiane Bode



Thomaz Teodorovicz



Tessa Recendes
Strategic Leadership & Governance
Matthew Semadeni


Timothy Hubbard



Tine Buyl







Ann-Kristin Weiser
Strategy Practice
Violetta Splitter


Georg Reischauer



Nadine Scholz



Codou Samba
Strategy Process
Jeanine P. Porck


Alexander Alexiev



Joakim Netz

Associate Program Chair







Sandeep Pillai
Research Methods
Sheryl Winston Smith


Zhiyan Wu



Minyoung Kim







Ayesha Malhotra
Maureen Meadows


Jiayi Bao



R. Scott Livengood

IG & C Governing Documents