Awards and Honors

Since its inauguration, the SMS has developed several awards programs to recognize
and honor those who have made significant contributions to the theory and practice of
strategic management. By recognizing special contributions to the field, we validate what
we define as excellence. Through these programs, the SMS distinguishes emerging
scholars in the field, business leaders that have demonstrated strategic leadership and
innovation, articles published that have notable impacts in the field, and authors of
outstanding academic work submitted to a conference. Each of these awards is targeted
toward people and research that moves the study of strategic management forward.


Awards & Honors Announcements

Meet the 2017 CK Prahalad Award Recipient - Kathleen Eisenhardt

Kathleen Eisenhardt’s is best known for her work on business and corporate strategy in high velocity environments: fast-moving, uncertain, and ambiguous markets where speed and flexibility are key. Her work has had a tremendous impact on the strategy field, and her future research and writing will continue to ensure her place as a significant thought leader.

Kathleen Eisenhardt is the S. W. Ascherman M.D. Professor and Co-director of the Stanford Technology Ventures Program at Stanford University. She is the coauthor of "Simple Rules: How to Thrive in a Complex World" and "Competing on the Edge: Strategy as Structured Chaos", which won the George R. Terry Book Award. Kathleen Eisenhardt's research focus is strategy and organization, especially in technology-based companies and high-velocity industries. She is currently studying the use of heuristics and other cognitive strategies, strategic interaction in new markets and novel ecosystems, and strategy making by boards of directors. She was recently noted as most cited research author in strategy and organization studies for the past 25 years. Kathleen Eisenhardt consults at senior levels with firms in industries ranging from Internet, telecommunications, software, and biotech to agribusiness, semiconductors, and clean tech.Among her awards are the Dan and Mary Lou Schendel Best Paper Prize and the CK Prahalad Award from SMS, and the Scholarly Contribution to Management award from AOM. She is a Fellow of the Strategic Management Society and Academy of Management, and has served as a Fellow of the World Economic Forum (Davos) and the Clinton Global Initiative.

Meet the 2017 Emerging Scholar- Emilie Feldman

Emilie R. Feldman is an Associate Professor of Management at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. She graduated magna cum laude from Harvard College, where she studied Economics and French Literature, and she received her MBA and DBA in Strategy from the Harvard Business School.

Emilie’s research focuses on corporate strategy and governance, with particular interests in the internal functioning of multi-business firms and the role that divestitures, spinoffs, and mergers and acquisitions play in corporate reconfiguration.  Her research has been published in top academic journals, and she has received numerous scholarly awards. She currently serves as an Associate Editor of the Strategic Management Journal, and she is on the Editorial Board of Organization Science.

Emilie teaches courses on mergers and acquisitions, divestitures, corporate strategy, and corporate governance in the undergraduate, MBA, law, and executive programs at Wharton and Penn. She received the Undergraduate Excellence in Teaching Award in 2017.

SMS Fellows

The purpose of the Fellows Group is to recognize and honor members of the Strategic Management Society who have made significant contributions to the theory and practice of strategic management.

Twitter Talk