The CK Prahalad Award for Scholarly Impact on Practice, introduced in 2011, was created to honor the legacy of CK Prahalad. The award recognizes excellence in the application of theory and research in practice. These include but are not limited to contributions to knowledge through the extraction of learning from practice; authored scholarly works that have substantively affected the practice of management; and/or the integration of research and practice.

A scholar-practitioner who has used applied learning to influence how theory and research guide practice is honored by this award. Special attention will be given to a scholar-practitioner whose contributions have shaped the understanding of global strategic leadership.


Nomination Process:

SMS Members are invited each year to nominate deserving members for the Awards and Honors Committee to review.
Nomintions include:

  • Nomination letter by an SMS Member for why the individual is deserving of the Award
  • A full CV for the nominated individual

The recipient of this award is selected by a subcommittee appointed by the SMS Awards & Honors Committee.”

CK Prahalad Award for Scholarly Impact on Practice 2023 Recipient:

Anil Gupta

Anil K. Gupta is the Michael D. Dingman Chair in Strategy and Entrepreneurship at the University of Maryland. He received his DBA from Harvard University. Dr. Gupta’s work in the areas of globalization and global strategy, innovation and entrepreneurship, and digital strategy lies at the intersection of important phenomena in strategic management, key theoretical ideas, and grounded empirical work. Dr. Gupta has served as an invited speaker at the World Economic Forum for multiple years to discuss his work on globalization and on high growth markets such as India and China. He is also part of the global expert network of the World Economic Forum. Dr. Gupta is one of the very few individuals to be elected as a Fellow of three premier academic bodies – the Strategic Management Society, the Academy of Management, and the Academy of International Business. In recognition of his contributions to scholarship and practice, Dr. Gupta has been named as one of the world’s 50 most influential management thinkers.

Submission Deadline
15 April, 2024

Award Past Recipients

Rita Gunther McGrath, 2022
Don Hambrick, 2021
Harbir Singh, 2020
Jay Barney, 2019
David Teece, 2018
Kathleen Eisenhardt, 2017
Richard Rumelt, 2016
Michael Porter, 2015
Henry Mintzberg, 2014
Clayton Christensen, 2013
Nitin Nohria, 2012
Yves Doz, 2011