The award is conferred in recognition of significant and enduring service that made an outstanding and distinguished contribution to the Strategic Management Society and its members.

The recipient is a person who has rendered lengthy, significant, and effective service to the SMS and its members. Recipients can be selected based on both volunteer and compensated work contributed to the field and/or the Society.
Current members of the Board and current leaders of program activities (journals, conferences, research funding) are not eligible. Officers of the SMS are not normally eligible until 5 years after completion of their service.


Nomination Process:

SMS Members are invited each year to nominate deserving members for the Awards and Honors Committee to review. Nomintions include:

  • Name of the nominated individual
  • Explanation for why the individual is deserving of the SMS Service Award

The recipient of this award is selected by a subcommittee appointed by the SMS Awards & Honors Committee.

SMS Service Award 2023 Recipient:

Bala Chakravarthy

Bala Chakravarthy is Professor Emeritus of Strategy and Leadership at IMD. He formerly held the Shell Chair in Sustainable Business Growth at IMD. He received his DBA from Harvard University. Dr. Chakravarthy’s career serves as a model of dedicated and selfless service to the Strategic Management Society from its origin. Notably, he served as a member of the SMS Board of Directors, was instrumental in the launch of the SMS Interest Groups structure, and was a member of the organizing committee for some of the earliest SMS conferences. He served on the editorial board of the Strategic Management Journal for almost two decades. In 2005, the SMS Fellows recognized Dr. Chakravarthy as an Inaugural Fellow of the SMS.

Submission Deadline
15 April, 2024

Award Past Recipients

Margarethe Wiersema, 2022
Dan Schendel, 2021
Caroline McCarley, 2020
Joan Enric Ricart, 2019
Steven Floyd, 2018
Irene Duhaime, 2017
Richard Bettis, 2016
Michael Hitt, 2015
Lois Gast, 2014