SMS Service Award

The award is conferred in recognition of significant and enduring service that made an outstanding and distinguished contribution to the Strategic Management Society and its members.


Deadline for Nominations
Announcement of Award Recipient
SEPT. 22-25
SMS Annual Conference

SMS Service Award Past Recipients

picture of Irene Duhaime
Irene Duhaime
Georgia State University

Richard Bettis, 2016

picture of Richard Bettis
Richard Bettis
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Award Criteria and Nomination Process

Award Criteria:

  • The recipient is a person who has rendered lengthy, significant, and effective service to the SMS and its members
  • Recipients can be selected based on both volunteer and compensated work contributed to the field and/or the Society
  • Current members of the Board and current leaders of program activities (journals, conferences, research funding) are not eligible
  • Officers of the SMS are not normally eligible until 5 years after completion of their service

Nomination Process:

The following leaders of SMS activities will be invited each year to make nominations to Awards and Honors Committee:

  • Board Members
  • Interest Group Leadership
  • Journal Editorial Leadership
  • Current Conference Program Chairs
  • SRF Program Chairs

Recipients of the SMS Service Award will be determined by a majority vote of the SMS Board of Directors.

2018 SMS Service Award Recipient: Steven Floyd

Steven W. Floyd is the Isenberg Professor of Innovation and Entrepreneurship at the Isenberg School of Management, University of Massachusetts – Amherst. His research focuses on the strategy development process, and much of it takes a middle management perspective on how strategy forms. Professor Floyd’s work has been published in the Strategic Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Journal, Journal of Management, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of International Business Studies, among others. He is a former General Editor of the Journal of Management Studies and Associate Editor of the Strategic Management Journal. Within SMS, his 25 years of service include: co-chairing the 24th International Conference; organizing and helping others to develop Special Conferences; and serving in the founding leadership team of the Strategy Process IG. He was elected to the Board of Directors in 2008 and later appointed the Society’s Treasurer for two three-year terms. He currently serves on the editorial boards of the Academy of Management Journal, Strategic Management Journal and Journal of Management Studies.

The SMS will present the Service Award to Steven Floyd at the 38th Annual SMS Conference in Paris during the Awards Luncheon held on Tuesday, September 25th.