Thank You!

We would like to extend our gratitude to all of the candidates who volunteered their time for leadership roles in the SMS. We appreciate the continued interest and effort by all these individuals!

We would also like to thank all our members that cast their vote in this election. Your involvements helps to shape the direction of the Society.

To learn more about the Bylaws of the SMS and our elections, please click below.

2016 SMS Leadership Election Results

SMS President-Elect

We are excited to announce that Javier Gimeno will begin his term
as President-Elect of SMS in January!

Javier Gimeno will begin the presidential cycle in 2017 and serve as the President-Elect for two years. Following this, he will serve as the President of the Society in 2019-2020. He will conclude his presidency with two years as the Past-President.

Javier Gimeno is Professor of Strategy at INSEAD, where he holds the Aon Dirk Verbeek Chair in International Risk and Strategic Management. He received his PhD in strategic management from Purdue University and a Licenciate degree from University of Zaragoza in Spain. His research focuses on competitive strategy, particularly on understanding the drivers of competitive interactions, and entrepreneurship. He has published in journals such as Strategic Management Journal, Academy of Management Journal, Administrative Science Quarterly, and Organization Science. He has served as Senior Editor for Organization Science and Strategy Science, and held editorial board positions in other leading journals, including SMJ, AMJ and AMR. Javier has extensive experience of leadership in professional service. For the Strategic Management Society, Javier served as chairman of the Competitive Strategy Interest Group, as Program Chair for the 2006 SMS International Conference in Vienna, and most recently on the Board of Directors for two terms. For the Academy of Management, Javier was Program Chair and Division Chair for the Business Policy and Strategy division, and member of the Board of Governors. At INSEAD, he has served as Dean of the Executive MBA Programmes, and just completed his term as chair of the Strategy department.

SMS Directors-at-Large

Julian Birkinshaw, Marvin Lieberman, and Sharon Matusik will be joining the Board of Directors in 2017 for three year terms as Directors-at-Large.

Interest Group and Community Election Results

2017 Associate Program Chair: William Ocasio

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Daniel Gamache, Daniella Laureiro-Martinez, and Anastasiya Zavyalova

2017 Associate Program Chair: Emilie Feldman

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Claudine Gartenberg, Tomasz Obloj, and Elena Vidal

2017 Associate Program Chair: Giovanni Battista Dagnino

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Fabrice Lumineau, Denisa Mindruta, and Bevery Tyler

2017 Associate Program Chair: Guoli Chen

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Olivier Bertrand, Marei-Ann Betschinger, and Patia McGrath

2017 Associate Program Chair: Balagopal Vissa

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Theodore Khoury, Elena Kulchina, and Ethan Mollick

2017 Associate Program Chair: Liena Kano

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Tina Ambos, Ilya Cuypers, and Grazia Santangelo

2017 Associate Program Chair: Marie Louise Mors

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Kristina Vaarst Andersen, Elena Novelli, and Yue Maggie Zhou

2017 Associate Program Chair: Jonathan Bundy

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Anne Jacqueminet, Timothy Werner, and Michelle Westermann-Behaylo

2017 Associate Program Chair: Rebecca Kehoe

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Rhett Brymer, John Mawdsley, and Dana Minbaeva

2017 Associate Program Chair: Scott Graffin

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Yuri Mishina, Anastasiya Zavyalova, and David Hongquan Zhu

2017 Associate Program Chair: Krsto Pandza

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Opeyemi Agbaje, Eric Knight, and David Stiles

2017 Associate Program Chair: Jorge Walter

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Patricia Klarner, Micheal Mol, and Devaki Rau

2017 Associate Program Chair: Trevis Certo

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Asli Musaoglu Arikan, Matthew Semandeni, and Jeremy Short

2017 Associate Program Chair: Patricia Gorman

2017-2018 Representatives-at-Large: Ana Cristina Siqueira, Richard Smith, and Ning Su