Sharon Alvarez
University of Pittsburgh

Sharon Alvarez is the Thomas W. Olofson Chair in Entrepreneurial Studies at the Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business, University of Pittsburgh. She previously served as the Walter Koch Endowed Chair in Entrepreneurship at the Daniels College of Business, University of Denver and prior to that as an Associate Professor of entrepreneurship and management, and the Academic Director of the Center for Entrepreneurship at the Max M. Fisher College of Business, The Ohio State University. Professor Alvarez served as a Program Chair for the Strategic Management Society Annual Conference in Denver. She was a Max Planck Scholar at the Max Planck Institute for Entrepreneurship and Economic Systems Research. Her current research includes entrepreneurship theory of opportunities, firm, and market emergence. Professor Alvarez is an associate editor for Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal.